AD Thoughts

Digester design and construction info

Moderator:Bob

kjankows
AD Thoughts

Post by kjankows » Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:38 pm

Ahoy Bob,

Just found your place and I think it is a great idea. I read through several forums regarding AD digestion systems and thought I might provide a little AD in-site, please comment and question I have limited experience in digesters of your size.

When digesting human waste, and basically all carnivores and omnivore waste, pasteurization is required to remove all those harmful pathogens before land application, please don't get sick. It may be best to send your effluent to the WWTP.

Anaerobic microbes take a long time to develop and mature, to optimize your system don't waste your solids, recycle! At the same time, maintain a VSS:TSS ratio of 0.8 or above, which will eventually require wasting your inorganic solids (which unfortunately are going to settle to the bottom), maybe sell or donate your wasted solids to your buddies to inoculate their digesters, or take a portion of your effluent solids and re-inject them into your digester.

On larger systems, mixing is extremely important (I'm talking about complete-mixed here not plug flow). This will provide a greater interaction between the food and microbes and prevent dead space to utilize the most of your tank volume. On plug flow systems, solids recycle are very important.

Heating is also important, 95 - 104 deg F for mesophilic methagonens. If you are using biogas to heat your water, why not wrap a portion of your water supply around your digester to recapture energy. Of course install a bypass when using cold water or when you really want a hot shower :).