my modified earthship vs. your bioshelter :)

Designing, building, living in a bioshelter.

Moderator:Bob

BinaryWhisper
my modified earthship vs. your bioshelter :)

Post by BinaryWhisper » Sat Sep 27, 2008 12:35 pm

Hi Bob

I followed a link from a for sale listing for your home.

My wife and I are actively looking for property to build what I have been calling a modified earth ship although after reading about your home it would appear that our plans are for a bioshelter. An earthbermed mostly concrete thermal mass wrapped around a masonry stove with a greenhouse down the front of it and integrated grey water system. I was unaware there was a name for it :)

I had to smile when I went over your website. I have over 20 years experience with aquariums and have built many filters over the years. It was my intention to use that experience to build the filtration for the indoor greywater wetlands/gardens. It is essentially the same technologies. We will likely have a septic, well and be on the grid to help grease the wheels for the building inspectors. We have to pick our battles :)

I have some big plans for the greenhouse and the way it relates to the rest of the house and hence our lives. My vision is a complete life altering environment and I am looking forward to getting started on it. We will be building it ourselves with the intention of doing so mortgage free and as close to utilities free as possible.